Master of Science [M.Sc] (Physics) 

Master of Science (M.Sc.) Physics Top Colleges, Syllabus, Scope and Salary

M.Sc. Physics is a postgraduate course based on the study of all branches of Physics. A candidate has to be a B.Sc. graduate in Physicsfrom a recognized university in order to become eligible for this course. M.Sc. Physics is a two-year program. If the course is pursued through correspondence then the duration of the course is two years minimum and three years maximum.

Top Institutes Offering M.Sc. Physics are:

  • Ramjas College, New Delhi
  • Hans Raj College, New Delhi
  • St. Xavier’s College, Kolkata
  • Hindu College, New Delhi
  • Miranda House College, New Delhi

The average tuition fee for the entire course ranges between INR 25,000 to 1.5 Lacs.

The mode of admission in some colleges is through an Entrance Examination while in others it is based on merit marks of the qualifying exam.

M.Sc. Physics graduate can get jobs in Research labs, academic and education institution, atomic and space organization, meteorology departments, medical industry etc. and can work as Research Scientist, Lecturer/professor, medical physicist, radiation physicist etc.A fresh graduate of this course can expect an average annual salary of INR 1 to INR 2.5 Lacs.

M.Sc. Physics: Course Highlights

Course LevelPost Graduate
Duration2 years
Examination TypeYearly System
EligibilityB.Sc. in Physics with 50% aggregate
Admission ProcessEntrance Exams
Course FeeINR 25,000 to 1.5 Lacs
Average Starting SalaryINR 1- 2.5 Lac
Top Recruiting Organizations'Maruti Udyog, Tech Mahindra, Infosys, Wipro, CTS, etc
Top Job ProfilesJunior Research Fellow, Research Scientist, Medical Physicist, Radiation Physicist, Research Associate.

M.Sc. Physics: What is it about?

Physics is a branch of science which is concerned with the study of matter and energy and the interaction between them. The course also imparts knowledge on the fundamental principles of several branches in Physics.

This course also covers the basic knowledge of various specializations like nuclear physics, high energy physics, condensed matter physics, astrophysics, cosmology, medicine, mining, geophysics.

This course is completed over the duration of 2 years.The course follows the semester system over the annual mode and hence the course is divided into 4 semesters.

For students pursuing the course through correspondence, the duration of the course is minimum 2 years and maximum of 3 years.